CSNbbs
Clemson: ACC or SEC - Printable Version

+- CSNbbs (https://csnbbs.com)
+-- Forum: Active Boards (/forum-769.html)
+--- Forum: ACCbbs (/forum-381.html)
+---- Forum: ACC Conference Talk (/forum-351.html)
+---- Thread: Clemson: ACC or SEC (/thread-852807.html)

Pages: 1 2

Clemson: ACC or SEC - IR4CU - 07-03-2018 04:44 PM

Let me start by stating that I have no insider information in the Clemson Administration or in their athletic department. The opinions expressed in this thread are mine and I think fairly represent the opinions of those Clemson fans that I normally interact with. I am a Clemson graduate and a die hard Clemson fan.

There has been a heated discussion (started by Hokie Mark and joined by JR and others) about revenue discrepancy and what this may mean to various ACC schools. Here is my take on some of this for Clemson (in no order of importance).

Clemson and the SEC

1. First, as much as some Clemson fans may yearn for the SEC, the simple fact is this is a moot point at this time due to the GOR and no offer from the SEC.
2. From a football perspective, Clemson would be a perfect fit in the SEC.
3. Would it be harder for Clemson to reach it's desired football goals in the SEC - yes. However, I would argue that at least for the past several years (sans Georgia last year) that the SEC East (where Clemson would most likely reside) would have been just as manageable for Clemson as the ACC.

Clemson and the ACC

1. Long term, has the ACC been good for Clemson? Yes.
2. Has Clemson been able to reach it's football goals from within the ACC thus far? Yes. Is this sustainable? That is the question.
3. I believe that all things being equal, the Clemson Administration, Clemson athletic department, and the Clemson football coaching staff would prefer to stay in the ACC while many but certainly not all fans would like to move to the SEC. However, all things are definitely "not equal" in todays athletic landscape!